• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Some help picking parts please!

C

Craftsman

Ok, in short this is my situation: my current system is seriously showing it's age. It's time to look for a replacement. I'm looking for a system that will keep me satisfied (performance-wise) for the next three-four years. However, as I tried to explain last night on mumble, I do not have the required skills to put one together myself. I've been there and done that (in the end, resulting in me taking the half-finished job to the shop where it was discovered I had wrecked have of the parts). So this time round, I'm going for a custom designed, but not self-completed solution! I found that in Alienware. Out of the two models they have on offer, I'm opting for the aurora version, I've picked out most of the components I have some knowledge off, but some still remain. Here's the list I still have to pick from:

CPU
Intel® Core™ i7-3930K (6 Core, 12MB Cache Overclocked up to 3.9Ghz)
Intel® Core™ i7-3930K (6 Core, 12MB Cache Overclocked up to 4.1Ghz)
Intel® Core™ i7-3960X (6 Core Extreme, 15MB Cache Overclocked up to 4.0Ghz)
Intel® Core™ i7-3960X (6 Core Extreme, 15MB Cache Overclocked up to 4.2Ghz)
Intel® Core™ i7-3820 (4 Core, 10MB Cache, 3.60GHz)

I understand a 6 Core is probably the best choice, but will the overclocking be detrimental in some way? (heat, lifespan....)

GPU (single card)
1 GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 555
1,25 GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 560 TI
1 GB AMD Radeon™ HD 687
3GB AMD® Radeon™ HD 7950
2GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GTX 680

GPU (dual card)
Dual 1GB AMD Radeon™ HD 6870 CrossfireX™
Dual 1GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 555 SLI™
Dual 2GB GDDR5 AMD® Radeon™ HD 7870 CrossFireX™
Dual 3GB AMD® Radeon™ HD 7950 CrossFireX™